HEART

HIV/AIDS Educative support through Arts and Recreational Teamwork

DISEASE STIGMA 2012

Dance for a Cure 2012; Collaborations

Choreographed by the great Adele Blank, especially mounted by the beautiful Yolandi Olckers, using SA dance companies; KMAD, Tribhangi, MID, and professional free-lance dancers such as Kyle Rossouw seen in this photo partnering me.

Last week I had the pleasure of taking part in Dance for a Cure, a dance benefit aimed at protecting and supporting young South African ladies in the fight against cervical cancer by raising awareness and funds. Since 2007 all dancers, other artists, technicians, and friends involved in the show, do so on a pro-bono basis and all proceeds from ticket sales are used to fund an HPV (Human Papilloma virus) vaccination programme within the country.

According to the information represented on the Dance for a Cure website (http://www.danceforacure.co.za/), an estimated 5000 women are diagnosed with cervical cancer, while an estimated 3000 women are dying from this PREVENTABLE disease every year. Proudly, Dance for a Cure manages to vaccinate more and more children each year, not to mention raising awareness for many women to take control of their health with regular pap smears and getting themselves and their daughters vaccinated.

I myself was prompted by my performance in Dance for a Cure 2010 to get vaccinated, adding to that the benefit is an annual reminder for me to take care of my myself and my cervical cancer risk. By simply checking in with the Doc once a year, I can prevent an otherwise life threatening disease. To be fair though, I knew about the HPV virus and the vaccination, long before I knew about Dance for a Cure. Why then, was I not already vaccinated?

If I am honest, I knew I should go to the Doc and ask for the vaccination, but I was too shy and embarrassed. My thoughts were along the lines of; I don’t need the vaccination, because I am not a person that sleeps around. Clearly for me, there was a lot of STIGMA attached to receiving a cervical cancer vaccination. According to my thoughts, those that get HPV must have slept around. Of course this is not the case, and of course I knew this and still do know that this is not the case, but I was still afraid that this was the impression I was giving if I did ask for the vaccination.

Apparently, I am not the only person falling into this STIGMA trap. According to many published studies around the world, the stigmatization and shame around sexually transmitted diseases is one of the top reasons why people shy away from taking control over their sexual health. Thankfully being apart of a benefit that coupled dance and other beautiful art forms with cervical cancer and HPV vaccination, gave me the opportunity to re-programme my thoughts. I now view it for what it is; a completely preventable disease. Dance for a Cure is completely responsible for the eradication of my STIGMA, and the power I now possess over my life and sexual health. On a very personal level then, I owe a lot to Dance for a Cure, since I’m not convinced I would otherwise be vaccinated.

What an honor to be apart of something so amazing! Working with so many talented and dedicated people! HEART has a lot to learn from Dance for a Cure. While a vaccination against HIV is still pending, ARV’s for people living with HIV are available and awareness programmes around safe sex practice for HIV free people remains a high priority. However, just like in my own experience, while the information is out there and the drugs are available, studies show that people do not necessarily take control of their health and protect themselves against HIV by practicing safer sex, knowing their status and, or by adhering to ARV treatment. It is important for HEART and all those involved in HEART to consider now, the role they play in eradicating HIV related STIGMA through the use of the Arts.

“BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE” (Mahatma Ghandi – Indian political and spiritual leader)

4 Comments

  1. Magnificent issues altogether, you just gained a new reader. What may you suggest in regards to your submit that you just made some days in the past? Any certain?

    • Hi there, thanks for the comment! With regards to my last submit on disease and stigma.. I would have to suggest that awareness is the first step forward, what are your thoughts?

  2. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It really helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to provide one thing back and aid others like you helped me.

    • Hi, glad to hear my post on disease and stigma helped you. Follow us for more such issues and feel free to get involved 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Kristy

Leave a Reply

South African Youth Help Initiative

SAYHI is an organization dedicated to assist orphans.

love never fails

love in the bigger sense of the word

Melisa Le Rue

NEW WEBSITE COMING SOON!

jezreljane

4Life Transfer Factor: Nature's Secret

HEART

HIV/AIDS Educative support through Arts and Recreational Teamwork

anthropogen

: of, relating to, or resulting from the influence of human beings on nature

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

Awesomely Awake

A field guide to living an intentional, creative and fun life -- with children.

Independent Ethos

Handmade with vinyl and celluloid

Snoring Dog Studio

Original Painting and Illustration and Comments on Life's Oddities

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

David Cummings on Startups

Over 2,500 posts on entrepreneurship and startups

findingMYdance

"Dancing is like dreaming with your feet"- Constanze

Entertainment for life

Official Blog for Brettian Productions

traveldance.net

A travel site following the adventures of a performing artist

myembodiment.wordpress.com/

Visit Embody Mental Health at www.embodymentalhealth.com

